Trance

I find, since you have been gone,
The feeling of a poltergeist in the house.
A crash in the basement
Where a painting has fallen.
A blind disturbed here or there.

It is feeling only.
A true ghost would excite the dogs.
As does the smell of your perfume
Opening a drawer
We shared.
A true ghost would not leave me to sleep
Peacefully
In the high midday sun.

But, then again, they have barked at the door you left open
Many times
In leaving
Which is now securely barred
Against all human reason.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Taylor Ranch Report

Bruce Mulkey asked me to share a report on the board retreat at Taylor Ranch with our beautiful community. Humbly, I will begin with the poem the Lord of dreams offered as I awoke this Sunday. Inspired by Laura Collins’ observation that... Continue →