Job Site

In the catholic telling of the Passion
Toward the end of the trail of tears.
Simon of Cyrene lifts the Cross
At this point really just a 12-foot railroad tie,
From the back of Yeshua of Nazarene.
or Jesus (of Home Depot),

or George (of Minneapolis) if you prefer, it couldn’t matter less
To the story.

I remember when I first began to do battle
with the demons my walk through the garden borne
Driving to a rustic church in the next town over,
On a Saturday morning.
That featured, not a mural, or a window, or a statue,
just a simple postcard of this scene in the nave.

This ordinary scene of humanity and divinity
Two guys lifting a heavy, pressure-treated, cypress log on an ordinary Thursday morning.
To build a church
In which, one day,
I might, if not exactly worship,
At least notice and perhaps, confess my sins
Whispering the greatful burning desire of another to help
in the unburdening of them.

IMG_0129.JPG

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Columbine, Texas

How do we grieve? I remember standing over the dead of Columbine Children just as I was, who thought themselves adult. Latchkey kids of the 1990’s Whose parents lived in other rooms and other hours, Not on others phones and customized... Continue →