Loving What Is - Envy

One thing you must do to forgive yourself.
To set down the stone of comparing yourself to others.
A most natural of things to do. And most dangerous.
You must forgive yourself for falling in love, too easy, too fast.
With a person like Jennifer.
With company like P&G.
With a concept like metaphysics.
Or a plant like sugarcane,
or a drug like amphetamine.
When you find yourself greenly gazing a guys in their 20’s
Flush with cash and shrift of responsibility.
Look to your children, look to your addiction.
Even without knowing either personally would you trade what you know from them?
Would you trade your mad spiritual saunter through cults, crystals, 1st Century Christianity and 12 Steppers?
Would you trade your bleeding liberal heart for a mind of gold?
No.
But I confess my first thought is yes. Yet as I reach for it I realize that that is only because I am tired of being myself in a world and culture that sells the lie that to be 25, rich, and free is to be happy. When I know almost no one that fits that brief- and feel sorry for the few I have met that do.
Thank YOU for making me as I am teach me to discern how to be myself more freely and discerningly.
Teach me to use the gifts I don’t always relish.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

The Wind makes the Way

Free from desire, you realize the mystery. Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations. — Tao Te Ching Verse I, stanza II Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and... Continue →